In the pages, catalog, events editor, you can change which fields appear in the Checkout Form and are added to the database with a transaction. You can make existing fields optional, required, read-only, hidden and provide a default value. You can reorder the fields on the form, and you can replace the default ones with custom fields.
From the editor, select the Checkout Form tab.
This shows the configuration of the contact block for the form. The fields are shown in the order given, except for Inactive or Hidden ones. You can reorder the fields using the common table controls on the right-hand side.
To change the definition of the field, select the edit icon on the right-hand side of the row containing the field:
The Input dropdown controls how the field is used on the form, the options are:
- Inactive - the field will not appear on the form, and no data will be added to that Contact field in the database
- Hidden - the field will appear on the form, and if the default value is set, it will be set as the value for that field for the contact in the database
- Optional - the field will appear, but will not be required
- Required - the field will appear and be required
- Readonly - the field will be read-only
Why do we allow for Hidden and Read-only fields? So that you can pre-define values for fields that will be entered in the database for the Contact. For example, you would make the first name read-only as the default value.
The next set of options control the appearance of the field:
- Prompt on Page: the label that will appear alongside the field.
- Default value: a default value to be set in the field when the form appears.
- Autocorrect: will apply rules to input data to normalize them - correcting all-upper or all-lowercase, for example.
- Show on confirmation: whether the field is part of the contact block as it appears on the confirmation page and email.
The last option controls whether the field replaces a pre-defined contact field.
Make sure to save the work to make it a read-only contact option. Then Save your work again on the main editor page.